Ely Cathedral - Home
A View of Ely Cathedral
A View of Ely Cathedral

Who's Who?


The Chapter

The Cathedral Chapter operates like a company's Board of Directors.
They are responsible for the oversight of the day to day running of the Cathedral and its worship and each has particular responsibilities for the fabric, education, music and worship, marketing etc.
The Chapter is assisted by the Minor Canon and the Priest Vicars.

The Dean
The Dean

The Very Revd Mark Bonney

The Vice Dean and Canon Missioner
Canon Missioner

The Revd Canon Dr Alan Hargrave

The Canon Precentor
Canon Precentor

The Revd Canon Dr James Garrard

The Canon Pastor
Canon Pastor

The Revd Canon David Pritchard

Non-residentiary Chapter

Canon Hugh Shilson-Thomas
Canon Hugh

Canon Tom Green
Canon Tom Green

Dr. Diana Henderson
Dr Diana Henderson

Mrs Sarah Squire
Mrs Sarah Squire


Minor Canon

The Revd Mark Letters Chaplain, King's Ely

Priest Vicars

The Revd Canon Chris Barber
The Revd Canon Michael Law
The Revd Canon Bruce Curry
The Revd Eric Rowland
The Revd John Sansom
The Revd Canon Colin Travers

College of Canons

Up to 45 clergy or lay persons who work in the Diocese of Ely are Honorary or Lay Canons of the Cathedral and members of the College of Canons.

Honorary Canons

J S Beer
M Guite
H McCurdy
F Brampton
J Keiller
S Leeke
S Williams
J Binns
R Darmody
M Seeley
F Watts

S Wyatt
B Atling
D Thomson
P King
S Coakley
M Bradbury
F Windsor
N Moir
T Alban Jones
A Norman
N Cooper

Etheldreda Ecumenical Canons

P Hills
D Thompson

Lay Canons

J Perrett
S Freestone
K Aylmer
D Ford
H Duberly
J Harrison

Cathedral Licensed Lay Ministers/Readers

Mrs Jan Payne
Mr John Marshall

Children's Licensed Minister

Mrs June Massey

Cathedral Council

The Chapter is advised by the Cathedral Council which is chaired by Sir David Harrison and consists of 20 members representing the Cathedral Community, the City of Ely and County of Cambridgeshire, and the other churches within the geographical area of the Diocese of Ely.
The Council meets twice a year and has power to amend the Cathedral Constitution and Statutes.

Cathedral Staff

The Cathedral employs a full time lay-staff of more than 50 and a part time staff of more than 30. These include vergers, secretaries, administrators, maintenance staff, catering and shop managers ...

Administrator & Chapter Clerk - Stephen Bourne - DDI: 01353 660308

The Dean's Secretary - Sarah Coakley - DDI: 01353 660307

Director of Music - Paul Trepte - DDI: 01353 660336

Assistant Organist - Edmund Aldhouse - DDI: 01353 660311

Director of Finance - Alison Binstead - DDI: 01353 660324

Director of Communications - Lesley Ann Thompson - DDI: 01353 660350

Director of Operations & Sacrist - Chris Flatman - DDI: 01353 660356

Director of Development - Helen Bright - DDI: 01353 660321

Cathedral Archivist - Elizabeth Stazicker - DDI: 01353 660366

Visits & Tours Coordinator - Sue Inman - DDI: 01353 660359

The Friends' Officer - Sue Hunting - DDI: 01353 660348

Education Officer - Jan Munt - DDI: 01353 659668

Technical Manager and Webmaster - Richard Clover - DDI: 01353 660305

Systems and Database Administrator - Andrew Dunn - DDI: 01353 660320

Clerk of Works - Vicki Roulinson - DDI: 01353 660352

Vergers Vestry - Vergers - DDI: 01353 660342

Shop Manager - Sandra Firth - DDI: 01353 660319

Almonry Restaurant Manager - Mick Blakey - DDI: 01353 666360

Refectory Café - June Robb - DDI: 01353 660346

The Cathedral also relies heavily on hundreds of volunteers who serve as guides, welcomers, shop volunteers, stewards etc.

The Cathedral has a large regular congregation and a thriving Sunday School.